Having Sex

Lately I’ve noticed an increase in the phrase “have sex” in news reports, as in “A teacher accused of having sex with a sixteen-year-old student was arrested yesterday.” Every report of illegal sexual contact says somebody “had sex” or is accused of “having sex” or denies they “had sex,” and every time I read one of those “have sex” stories I feel vaguely alarmed. Not that somebody did or did not “have sex” with somebody else, but that the term “have sex” has come to mean sexual intercourse. At least I think that’s what it means. At least for today.

There was a time when public definition of the word “sex” was both a synonym for “gender” and a catch-all euphemism for every form of sexual contact. But when Bill Clinton said, “I did not have sex with that woman,” the whole country made a shift in the definition of what it meant to “have sex.” If our President could claim he hadn’t “had sex” with Monica because he’d only had oral sex, that gave a whole new meaning to “sex.” What a guy! He not only balanced the national budget, he gave presidential sanction to BJs.

Now pre-teen girls hook up with boys a la Lewinsky, and young women who choose to be virgins until they marry have plenty of oral sex. I’m not criticizing that — oral sex is a lot smarter than the kind of sex that can give you AIDS or make you pregnant — it’s just that denying that it’s “sex” it’s a new way of defining the word.

I continue to think of “sex” as male or female gametes, a characteristic shared by all plant, animal, and human life. I’m probably the only person in the western hemisphere who does a little mental bobble when I read in the morning paper of somebody “having sex.” When I see it, I think, “Well, don’t we all?”

Yes, I’m between manuscripts. Yes, I have way too much time on my hands. Yes, I’m wasting attention on inane things. Yes, it’s time to get back to work.

3 thoughts on “Having Sex

  1. LOL! Great blog on Sex! Yes, I believe you are the only one thinking hard when they hear the word sex. It’s okay though because it gives you something to write about and me something to read!

Leave a Reply

