Friendship Is The Greatest Treasure

My friend Kasey left awhile ago to return to Houston after visiting me for a few days, and I’m still grinning like an idiot just from the sheer fun of it. Kasey’s real name is Kay, and for a time she had a last name that began with a C, so she became KC or Kasey. I still call her that even though she shed the last name that began with a C and the husband who gave it to her a long time ago. Kasey is the kind of friend that everybody should have. She has an infectious laugh and a droll sense of humor and is one of the smartest and kindest women in the universe. Once, when I was flat broke and scared, Kasey offered me quite a lot of money. Not as a loan, just a flat out gift. I didn’t take it, but she would have been happy to give it to me. She’s that kind of friend.

When I was living in Philadelphia and missing Tex-Mex food like crazy, Kasey came to visit with a cooler filled with quarts of salsa, chili con queso, and guacamole sauce. She came to visit when I was living in France, too, and after a day of sightseeing we took a wrong turn and drove all over the mountain roads of the Cote d’ Azure in the dark, lost as blind worms. Kasey was driving the rental car, and she finally announced in a very loud voice, “I am never turning back again! I am only going forward!” As it turned out, going forward took us to a town with lights and streets where we could get our bearings and figure out which way was home, so we’ve taken that as our credo. “I am never turning back again! I am only going forward!”

During the last few days, we’ve laughed our heads off and sometimes shed a few tears. We’ve caught each other up on all the ups and downs of our lives since we were together, and shared the challenges we know are ahead. And then we’ve raised our wine glasses and shouted, “I am never turning back again! I am only going forward!”

I am extremely blessed to have Kasey as a friend.

Leave a Reply

