Crock Pot Pulled Pork

Having good neighbors is a gift in and of itself, but I’m especially blessed in that one of my neighbors is not only a phenomenal cook, she’s generous. Last week she sent me some pulled pork she’d made in her crock pot. It was so good I’m thinking of buying a crock pot for myself, just so I can make this one dish. Like all really good things, it’s incredibly easy. She gave me permission to share it, so here it is:

Put a boneless pork roast that’s trimmed of fat in a crock pot. Add a can of undrained back beans  and a large jar of salsa, mild or medium, depending on how spicy you like things. That’s it. No spices, no more liquid. Cover and cook on low all day. Use two forks to pull the meat into pieces, stir the whole thing and serve it over yellow Mexican rice. How much easier can it get? And it was, I promise, delicious.

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Pulled Pork

  1. This past week, I tried your neighbor’s crock pot recipe for pulled pork and yellow rice. YES, it was so easy. YES, it was so delicious. You probably should share a new crock pot recipe every couple of months or so!!! During my last pantry cleaning, I almost pitched out the crock pot because it had not been used in so long . . . glad I didn’t.

  2. That pulled pork and yellow rice dish was so good I’ve thought of it ever since I ate it, and finally broke down and ordered a crock pot of my own last week. It hasn’t arrived yet, but I’m gathering crock pot recipes and imagining the aroma of cooking food wafting under my nose while I write. It would really be a treat to shut dow my computer at 6:00 p.m. and go into the kitchen to a dinner already cooked. Usually I go in and peer hopefully into the refrigerator as if a magical genie might have secretly stashed something in it that I could heat up. Heck, I may start cooking pot roasts again!

Leave a Reply

