Catching Fire

Suzanne Collins has done it again. I didn’t think I could possibly like the second book in her trilogy as much as I liked The Hunger Games, but from the first page of Catching Fire, I was immediately transported into the world of Katniss, Gale, Peeta, and all the other entrancing characters from the first book. If you’ve put off reading the series because it’s categorized as “young adult,” you’re missing a powerful allegory that promises to become a classic. One word of warning: don’t start reading this book late in the day like I did. I opened it at 8:00 pm, and finished it at 1:00 am. Then I lay staring into the darkness thinking about the story and the characters for another hour. And because I didn’t want to let it go, I picked it up again in the morning and re-read the last chapter so I would have it seared into my brain while I wait a year for the third book in the series. Only a superb writer can hold my interest like that. Suzanne Collins is definitely one of the best writers of the day.

Leave a Reply

