Resolutions I Won’t Make

Things I used to list as determined New Year’s resolutions have now descended to resigned wishes. I know I won’t change my old habits, so there’s no sense in declaring to the world that I will. It only causes me to end up failing yet again at whatever it was that I resolved to do.

I don’t resolve to become more organized. I don’t resolve to get a better system for things that have to be done. I WISH I would do those things, and I will start out the new year by making pathetic stabs at doing what I’m pretty sure organized people do.

For instance, I wish I kept a record of the dues I pay and when I paid them. I’m sure that sensible, organized, sane people don’t panic at emails from The Mystery Writers’ Association of America, or The Cat Writers’ Association of America, or Sisters in Crime reminding members to pay their dues. I’m sure other writers don’t think, “I paid mine! I’m sure I did! Well, maybe I didn’t. I’d better check. How do I check? Oh, yeah, I go to their website and check under my name. What’s the password to get on the website? I know I saved that password somewhere, but what folder did I save it in?”

All that silliness is bad enough, but half the time when I try to check something like that, I find the password has been changed, or there’s some idiotic test I have to pass like Yahoo’s scrambled letters that I can NEVER correctly copy, and I end up leaving it for another time when I’m not knee-deep in a manuscript. Hence the panic when the questions come, because I’m never sure I actually went back to it.

The organization for thriller writers, bless them, doesn’t ask for anything I have to remember. Maybe all thriller writers are as disorganized as I am. But they’re very organized in interviewing writers of new books. The January Big Thrill, for example, has an interview with me conducted by Terry DiDomenico about Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons, which will be in bookstores Jan 4. You can read the interview at The Big Thrill.

2 thoughts on “Resolutions I Won’t Make

  1. Dear Blaize:

    As always, loved your new book and Dixie and all her friends keep me laughing when I most need it here in cold New England. However, always makes me hungry whenever reading the great food Dixie eats. Would you have the receipe for the chocolate bread that Cora always makes.

  2. That bread is based on real chocolate bread that a dear friend used to make in an old machine. Unfortunately, she would never share her recipe, but took it to heaven with her. Several readers have experimented with their bread machines trying to duplicate what they think Cora made. Sally Hayes sent this recipe. I’m not sure if it’s the same, but it looks yummy.

    1-1/3 cup buttermilk
    1 tsp. vanilla
    1 beaten egg
    2 tablespoons butter
    1 tablespoon sugar
    1-1/2 teaspoon salt
    4 cups bread flour (Sally uses regular flour)
    1 heaping tablespoon cocoa powder
    1-1/2 teaspoon bread machine yeast
    1/2 cup chocolate chips (put in another 3/4 c. direct from the freezer)

    In the order recommended by the manufacturer, put all ingredients except the chocolate chips into the bread machine. Set the machine for white or raisin bread. (Sally used the sweet bread and light crust settings on her machine.) At the “beep,” which happens about 20-30 min. into the process, add the chocolate chips.

    Sally says the entire time from start to finish takes about 3 hours. She also says that, like Cora’s, the bread likes to be torn in chunks, although hers slices nicely too.

Leave a Reply

