A Kid’s Hideout from the Cold

Schools are closed in Chapel Hill, N.C. because of the icy weather, so my granddaughter Kim took my great-granddaughter, Sierra, to work with her. That’s Sierra sitting under Kim’s desk with her movie-streaming laptop and earphones, drinking soup heated in the office microwave. I imagine this scene is being replicated all over the country. Here in Florida, the temperature is fifty degrees, which is plenty cold to me. If it’s under seventy, I feel like I’m in the arctic circle. But if I were a kid and I got to watch movies under my mother’s desk when it was cold, I’d probably love it.

Leave a Reply

