Lemon Trees and CDs

I just spent a lot of time on one of those tasks that make you realize you’re old and that the task itself is archaic. I organized my CD’s. They were a terrible mess, out of order, not in the right jewel cases, generally unavailable. It took me over an hour of work before the thought came tiptoeing into my mind that I rarely play a CD anyway because I use my radio linked to Pandora or Public Radio on my iPhone.

I still had an untitled CD left over, so I inserted it into the player to see what it was. After it played, the player began blinking “Player Inoperable.” My Bose’s CD player had apparently chosen that moment to die. I felt as if the radio was thumbing its nose at my CDs. If they rejected it, it wouldn’t work for them either.

I looked out the window at my newly dead lemon tree and laughed. The Universe seemed to be telling me something: all things come to an end, and when they do, let them go and move on. So I patted the radio, stored away the CDs, and called a man to come cut down the lemon tree.

Happy Easter, everybody!

7 thoughts on “Lemon Trees and CDs

  1. It’s good to have a positive attitude. I amazed myself today by installing two new light switches. I’ve been meaning to replace them for about 5 months now and after watching several “how to” videos on various websites, I decided today’s the day. I had a serious discussion with the clerk at Home Depot about whether I needed any extra gadgets or wiring to complete my task. He assured me that if the switch doesn’t turn on the light it means the correct breaker has been shut off.

    All in all I couldn’t believe how easy the electrical part was, however getting the new plate cover on was another story. The first one went on without a hitch, but for the life of me, I couldn’t get the second one aligned properly to tighten both the screws. By then the sun had gone down and I was in darkness, so I had to go find the flashlight which promptly died about two minutes later. After installing new batteries I figured out that it wasn’t the batteries, but the flashlight itself that was the problem. After a few good shakes it started shining light once again and finally, about two hours after I started, my job was complete. The best part is that both the light switches work perfectly and I haven’t had any shocks so far.

    • You’re a braver woman than I am, Margaret Ann! Anything that might shock me usually does, so I won’t dare try anything that involves turning off lights. Congrats!

  2. Channeling my hero, Mr. Rogers, here: talking to the neighbor about the results of his spraying might be an important step. He may be unaware of the wider effects of his actions, and should perhaps be given the opportunity to learn. The lemon tree is a pretty big object lesson. If he rejects the knowledge, at least you’ve tried. I’m reflecting on an NPR interview in which he discussed talking with noisy neighbors, perhaps resulting in less noise, or at least knowing them might make the noise less bothersome . . . just a thought.

    • You’re right, Mary. Now that I’m not so mad at him, I’ll have a talk as soon as I can. It’s not good for me to talk to people when I’m mad. I tend to go for the jugular then, and that never solves anything.

Leave a Reply

